Tommy Fleetwood/Shane Lowry Vs Thomas Pieters/Alex Noren Highlights | 2023 Hero Cup

Thomas Pieters and Alex Noren held off a spirited fightback from Tommy Fleetwood and Shane Lowry to win the opening contest of the 2023 Hero Cup and help Continental Europe open up a 3-2 lead after Friday’s four-ball matches.


The first DP World Tour event in 2023 will see players from Continental Europe and Great Britain and Ireland compete across three days of team match play at the inaugural Hero Cup in Abu Dhabi. The Hero Cup is a new team match play contest that is making its debut on the DP World Tour. Francesco Molinari and Tommy Fleetwood, both multiple-time winners on Tour, serve as playing Captains of the respective Continental Europe and Great Britain and Ireland teams. Molinari and Fleetwood have worked in close conjunction with Luke Donald, who will oversee the event in his capacity as 2023 European Ryder Cup captain. Performance on the season-long Race to Dubai Rankings in Partnership with Rolex last year was a key factor in the player selection process. The Continental Europe team consists of Francesco Molinari, Thomas Detry, Rasmus Højgaard, Adrian Meronk, Guido Migliozzi, Alex Noren, Victor Perez, Thomas Pieters, Antoine Rozner and Sepp Straka. The Great Britain and Ireland team consists of Tommy Fleetwood, Ewen Ferguson, Tyrrell Hatton, Shane Lowry, Robert Macintyre, Richard Mansell, Seamus Power, Callum Shinkwin, Jordan Smith and Matt Wallace.


You might like